Hervey Bay to Yeppoon

Sunday the 16th of June the was the day Mum and I got back to the boat.  Not much happened when we got back to the boat, there was no party or anything :(. I did catch a toad fish.  Strange looking thing if you ask me. After re provisioning we sailed over to Fraser Island.

Caught at Hervey Bay

Caught at Hervey Bay

While mum and I where at home Dad bought three stand up paddleboards (SUP’s) so we tried them out over at Fraser Island. They are SOOOOO much fun!!!? (don’t ask why I put that ? in there, because I don’t know why I did).  We went a bit further up the coast of Fraser island and on the SUP’s went up a little creek just to explore and found another creek the next day. If you’re wondering if the SUP’s are easy to use well yes they are easy and a very easy if you are in dead calm water.  They are hard to turn but.

First go - West Coast Fraser Island

Stand Up Paddleboard
First go – West Coast Fraser Island

On Thursday we set off for Lady Musgrave Island – I love that place! Last time we were there we got to watch turtles lay their eggs, so that was cool, and kind of strange? On the way there it was slow so I stayed in bed till about 11am.  When I was asleep one of our trolls, the squid one (we have two squid on one troll), got bitten clean off.  Not a thing left, no hook, no lure, nothing. I got up when I heard my Mum call out ‘fish’. Who wouldd not get up if they were about to catch a fish? I did not get to catch it as Mum pulled it in. It was a yellow fin tuna, nice one too.  We caught three more fish; we got one more Yellow Fin and two Spanish Mackerel.  All of them about 5kg and the biggest Spanish Mackerel was 97cm long so not bad. When we arrived at Lady Musgrave Island it was a bit late and because it’s a coral reef and you need to be able to see the coral so you don’t hit it we are all out on deck to help guide into a clear sandy spot to anchor.

Two nice Spanish Mackerel

Two nice Spanish Mackerel

Yellow Fin Tune

Yellow Fin Tune

Spanish Mackerel - very sharp teeth

Spanish Mackerel – very sharp teeth

First go - West Coast Fraser Island

First go – West Coast Fraser Island

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lady Musgrave Island

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lady Musgrave Island

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lady Musgrave Island

Lady Musgrave Island

Lady Musgrave Island

The next day was overcast and we did nothing much.  I had to do some school work and write up this blog and that’s all that has really happened.

After the weather past we did some stuff like we went into the Island and explored and walked all around the Island, did a tiny bit of swimming but only for about 10mins because it is soooo cold. We did not do much fishing that time around

as it was a bit too breezy, I think we are going out there on the way back down the coast so hopefully can get some fishing in then. When we went into the Island we were walking around the island on the sand and I wanted to go in the inside of the Island so I waited for my Mum and Dad to start talking to some campers and then I ran into the middle of the Island. It is like thick bush in there and there are camp sites and a track so I was not hacking my way through.

After that, now I know what I’m doing for my 18th Birthday.  I’m going out to Lady Musgrave Island with my mates and I for a week. (I’m already getting pumped for it :D) I was going to do it next year for my 13th but then I thought that most parents would not let their 13year old son go out to an Island in the middle of nowhere?

Continuing on with what I have been doing….  After we left Lady Musgrave Island we went to Fitzroy Reef. This is about 25nm to the North North West of Lady Musgrave Island. It’s another reef with a lagoon that you can enter. We did a bit of fishing and Dad got a small red throat emperor, we let it go then I caught one too. The first two fish we got was the same fish and we got a few other small fish. When we went into the entrance to the lagoon; it is so small and the water was flogging out of it because it is the only way in and out. There is nothing in there just coral so I did some fishing and got a giant Sweetlip (I think it was one of them). I got it in the strangest way. I got the bait on the bottom and put goggles on and stuck my head in the water to see if any fish where near it and I saw a school of sweetlips so I tugged the line around and one of them bit it and I raced out of the water and grabbed the rod and got it in. I did not get a photo of it as it jumped of the side as I was trying to pick it up. I tried again but they had left.

The next day we departed Fitzroy Reef.  Dad and I always like to have a drift on the edge of the reef. We got a heap of small fish, we only kept two of the little fish. They were a type of snapper so we got them and one other fish……. The Almighty KING FISH! Not as big as the one I got a Elizabeth Reef but I got this one on a rod not trolling. It was about 107cms and 10kg, so it was big. It gave me a bit of stick and by the time I landed it I was exhausted! Just tell you how lucky I am to have caught two big king fish by the time a am 12 year old, my Dad is 49 and lived most of his life on the water catching fish and he has never gotten one that big and has only seen a few that big – Soo that’s cool!

Another great King Fish Caught bottom fishing at Fitzroy Reef

Another great King Fish
Caught bottom fishing at Fitzroy Reef

Fitzroy Reef

Fitzroy Reef

From there we were going to go to straight to Great Keppel Island but we went to go put the MPS up well let’s just say it did not end well! It ripped – not good and there where dolphins right next to us when it happen so they left right after it happened – maybe they could sense the tension. So we had to put up the heads’l.  We could not make it to Great Keppel Island that day so we stay behind Wistari Reef. This is right near Heron Island.  It was really calm. That afternoon we went for a paddle board to look at the reef.  It was cool, there where pools and other cooooooool stuff too like coral and fish.

Wistari Reef

Wistari Reef

Wistara Reef

Wistara Reef

When we left for Great Keppel the next day it was a good trip andwe saw a HUGE dolphin, like HUGE! Just really big and when I upload the videos of all the stuff I’ve been doing you will see it. I named it DOLPHIN MAN!!! This day was extra cool because we were flown over by an Australian Customs Border Patrol aeroplane. When they called us up on the radio to ask their usual questions I was lying down listening to an audio book so didn’t see them come past. Dad asked them if they could do another fly by for me. And luckily for us they came back past later in the afternoon. They radioed us and said they’d be flying by in three minutes so we all went up on deck and before we knew it they were charging up from behind us with their landing lights flashing. They were so close and low that we could see the guys in their viewing pods. It was an awesome sight!

IMG_0504

We got there just on night  and we had some old friends there that we have not seen in a long time so it was nice to know we’d be catching up with them the next day.

The next morning we went over to our friends, Morrie and Faye on their boat named MY Panacea. We had some pikelets with jam and cream. Mum, Dad, Morrie and Faye talked and talked and talked. I wonder if they know how to do anything else?  I guess they had lots to catch up on as we haven’t seen them since 2006. They had a jigging line and there are 100’s of yellowtails under their boat so they let me have a go and I did not know how to use one. So Faye showed me and on her first go she got three, yes three at once. The second she put rod down I had a go. I was doing it for about 10mins and I did not get one bite, not one, so I don’t know if I’m doing it wrong or what. After that all of us went for a walk on the beach.  Didn’t see much, just… well lots and lots of sand really.

The next day Dad, Mum and I went for a paddle board up a little river and saw a lot of sting rays and one really big sting ray so that was cool.  Then that afternoon Morrie and Faye came over to our boat for sundowners. I had cordial instead of whatever they were having and I had a lot of carrots, yum yum carrots. Anyone that knows me knows that I really like carrots.

Great Keppel Island Wonderful boating Friends Morrie & Faye MY Panacea

Great Keppel Island
Wonderful boating Friends
Morrie & Faye
MY Panacea

Great Keppel Stingray

Great Keppel
Stingray

Great Keppel Island SUP exploring

Great Keppel Island
SUP exploring

We left Great Keppel Island the next day to head to over to the main land and anchored at Yeppoon. Took the dinghy into shore to get some more food because food is good for you any one that is alive would know that.

I plan to do my next update in about a week. We are headed north. When we were out at the Reefs we had no internet so that’s why this blog hasn’t been updated for a little while. From here on north we shouldn’t lose internet for more than a few days in a row so I’ll be able to update weekly.

Feel free to post comments to me as I’d love to hear what you think of my blog and of anything interesting that’s happening at home and school. Also follow my blog by typing your email address in the ‘+ follow’ spot in the bottom right corner.

That’s all for now – Captain Wil.

6 responses to “Hervey Bay to Yeppoon

  1. Great fish. Wil Pop is so jealous you will have to give him a few lessons We are having a good time over here in WA but there is not really anywhere to fish see you in a couple of weeks at Leonie”s party We love to hear about your travels keep it up. Love you lots. Nan & Pop xoxo

    • Hi Nan & Pop
      Thanks for your messages. I like getting them. Yes I can give pop fishing lessons but don’t worry I’ve even made Dad sad about the fish I’ve caught already and he’s been fishing sooooo long.
      Will be fun seeing you this weekend at the big party! yay
      xx Wil

  2. Hi Wil. I have read all your blog and am very impressed. I am sitting in my motel room in Wagga, on our way to WA. Pete recognised your dad from Nissan Maitland all those years ago. I love the anecdotal way you write and have learnt lots from you. We all miss you at school and cannot wait until you are there to tell us all about it. I will get Mr Carter to show them your blog whilst I am away. I will be back for the start of week 4, what about you?
    Enjoy your amazing experiences,
    Miss Coombs

    • Hello Miss Coombs.
      Thanks for your message. Lucky you having a holiday to. We can swap stories when I get back to school. I’ll be back first day next term and you will still be away I think. Hope your having a fun time too!
      Bye from Wil

  3. Heyya Capt’n Will….thanks so much for sharing your wonderful experiences…I really enjoyed the stories and the photos…proud of you mate…! Think I have an explanation of what may have happened re the squid jig disappearing…..tell Dad to stop using “granny knots” …..looking forward to a photo of your first Red Emperor…before Mum eats it….and befire Mum cleans it..!!! looking forward to the next blog…enjoy and love to all xxxx Harry

    • Hi Harry – great to hear from you. Thanks for your nice comments and yep I’ve got more stories to come so keep track on me. Have you followed my blog? If not you put your email address in by clicking the follow button on the bottom right corner.
      Bye
      Wil

Leave a Reply

